Physics major med school admission chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

treezy13

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a current masters student at Georgetown University pursuing a degree in Physics with a GPA of 3.2 . In my undergraduate degree I obtained a GPA of 3.1 and I have not yet taken the MCAT and have a huge desire to be a doctor. Excluding my thesis research and EC's, what are my chances of getting in to a Top 20 medical school? Also, what do you suggest I do to make up for my deficiencies to possibly meet the admission standards of the schools I have inquired? Thanks please give me feed back if you can. :oops:

Members don't see this ad.

Moving to the "What are My Chances?" subforum, which is specifically for questions like these.

Honestly, that GPA is very low for the Top 20 schools, even for a hard major like Physics. You're going to find it very difficult to even get an interview there without a truly outstanding MCAT (37+) and some very good clinical experience.

Hello,

I am a current masters student at Georgetown University pursuing a degree in Physics with a GPA of 3.2 . In my undergraduate degree I obtained a GPA of 3.1 and I have not yet taken the MCAT and have a huge desire to be a doctor. Excluding my thesis research and EC's, what are my chances of getting in to a Top 20 medical school? Also, what do you suggest I do to make up for my deficiencies to possibly meet the admission standards of the schools I have inquired? Thanks please give me feed back if you can. :oops:

You received a GPA of 3.1 for your first degree? I'm confused.

I'd recommend getting a 37+ MCAT first, but honestly a 3.2 is lucky to get into medical school. If I remember correctly, the average successful applicant has a 3.61 GPA, so naturally you'd want a bit higher for better schools.

Members don't see this ad :)