Please help!!! Study/Learn all MCAT stuff with a poor science background?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TunnelVision

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

Trying out SDN since I have no one else to really talk to about this stuff...

I graduated college 5 years ago, was premed and somehow got through with mediocre science grades, but now I really don't remember a lot of it. Recently applied to a few post-bacs that didn't require the MCAT and got rejected. Most enhancement post-baccs require I take the MCAT, and nobody considers me as a "career changer" since I already took the prereqs.

The problem is I barely remember the stuff, and now I think I should take the MCAT and then apply to post-baccs. I have a flexible work schedule and can commit between 25-40 hrs/week to studying. I am a different, more mature person than I was when I was a student, so I have cultivated the ability to put serious effort into this endeavor. Even still, honestly, it's just overwhelming. I've been watching Khan Academy videos, and sometimes I feel like I'll never be able to learn AND practice everything. And then I question if I'm studying the best way, and if I'll ever be able to remember it all.

Is it possible to learn the MCAT material online, or with review books without going back to take college courses? What resources would cover what I need to know? I'd like to study for what the exam tests rather than learn everything from each prereq course. I just don't know how to do this efficiently. I plan to take the exam 9 months from now. I know that if I use my time efficiently, I can do well, but I need to know 1. Am I being unrealistic? And 2. What should I focus on in order to effectively learn the material from gen chem, orgo, bio, biochem, and physics and math on my own? I'm not so worried about the remaining sections, since they tend to be my stronger areas and my background is in sociology.