Please read this. It might take some of your time but please..

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SPIDEI2MAN

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi. I'm looking for advice for a very awful situation.

First off, I am a sophomore now. My overall GPA if i had to guess is around a 2.3 . I screwed up my freshman year at GWU because of a massive depression. Back home, my parents were upset at my terrible 1.8 freshman year gpa so they pulled me back. I went to another college for a week, and then Katrina hit, so I had to go back to another college in Virginia. Last semester i got a 2.6 and this one is looking like a 3.0. So like i said by the end of my sophomore year I'll have around a 2.3.

What are my options? I am willing to stay in college an extra year...and the carribean is also an option...

what do you guys think? Does my upward trend help me? Will the next two years help me out if i get good grades? I'm feeling very lost right now.

I'm also an EMT, I've done 200 hours worth of volunteering, and i'll be doing research an internships the summer after junior year.
I'm a double major and a minor: Chem and Psychology with a minor in English
Any guidance is appreciated...and be honest...

Members don't see this ad.

If you're not doing so hot in your classes, perhaps you should try to change your lifestyle and/or your major. A upward trend will be your saving grace.

Maybe you should drop the Chemistry major, and focus on Psychology.

Members don't see this ad :)
Stop trying to do too much- two majors and a minor isn't going to impress an adcom one bit if you don't have the grades. Consider focusing on one major, and work really hard in it. Upward trends are good; now is your chance to really make that happen.

Best of luck.