Post-bacc, Carribbean Med School, or PA?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JUDolphin87

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
My goal is to go MD/DO eventually and I'm thinking of specializing as infectious diseases or pulmonology (or maybe a combination of both), but I don't believe I have the specs to make in at a traditional MD or DO program right now. I've been denied to a few med schools (FSU and Creighton), as well as a few post baccs (USF, Nova Southeastern). I majored in Biology and graduated with a 3.2 from a private school with a 19 (old) and 489 (new) MCAT score. I played 4 years of football, interned at Mayo Clinic, leadership in many organizations, 100+ volunteer hours. In my year off from school, I have been working as a medical scribe in the ER, waiting tables, and working on a manuscript for publication in a medical journal. I applied to a boat load of post baccs thinking that would be the best route for me, but after discussing it with several ER docs they are worried about the amount of debt I have and will accrue going post bacc. So, I'm considering applying to the big 4 and possibly even PA school. I've already been accepted to Mississippi College, Kansas City University, Liberty University, and Case Western Reserve. I'm still waiting to hear from Tufts, Wake Forest, Mount Sinai, Touro College NY, Mercer, LECOM, and PCOM. They all cost 20k+ (CWRU is 48k) and I'm worried that even if I get accepted to med school after attending that I won't be able to pay for it through loans (maxed out). HELPPPPPPP.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user