Post-bacc for a 3.6? Did quite well on the MCAT (521). Okay to do online post-bacc with extension courses due to time and money constraints?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RespectTheChemistry

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am not very good at Physics (two B's) and Organic Chemistry (C!), which I took senior year because of the TA shortage during the pandemic. My GPA actually went down a bit. The overall trend is still a distinct V-shape. I am a super senior because of the pandemic issues and so it actually didn't decrease my senior year GPA too much. I formally graduate in July.

I go:

Freshman = 3.6
Sophomore = 3.1 (illness and stalker)
Junior = 3.8
Senior = 3.7 (I would think 3.8 to 3.7 is negligible. This is 60 credits on the senior GPA.)

I think it's possible I will need a post-bacc even with the 3.6 cGPA given my history (explained below) and the fact that the sGPA went down to 3.58 from 3.6. What do you think?

I have a concerning history with A LOT of full semester withdrawals, the most recent of which was Fall 2021 (extraordinarily poorly controlled epilepsy). I also have an F on my transcript for Gen Chem II sophomore year when I failed to make up an incomplete in time. (Stalker was a grad student and my neighbor. I got him in January. The incomplete was given in the fall and needed to be made up in the spring.) That's what makes me think I have to get at least to median matriculant GPA to prove myself.

I did really well on the MCAT (521). If possible, I would prefer to apply now because of score expiration. I have a lot less time than I did when I took it during the pandemic and don't think I could repeat that on retake.