Premed to CRNA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

justlive1998

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi I'm a biology/pre-med sophomore and my question is if we do not get accepted to medical school, can we apply to other schools such as dental, pharmacy ans even nursing even if we were pre-med majors?

Members don't see this ad.

for the most part. Each health professional school may require something the other may not. Seems like anatomy+lab is a must for nursing/PA yet medical and (some) dental schools don't require it.

Each school has their own set of pre-reqs and each has their own entrance exam. Even individual programs will vary so you'll have to do some research. Getting your bio degree will cover some but not all pre-reqs for the graduatw programs. You would want to change your major if you decide on nursing.

Members don't see this ad :)
As long as you take the prereqs for those programs, sure. Take a look at what those are, and fit them in with your pre med classes before you graduate if you're worried about your backup plan.

I wonder if you're aware that you can't just apply straight off to CRNA school. They require you do nursing, then work as a nurse, have ICU experience and then do 3 years of CRNA. There are some trying to do away with ICU experience but if you're job is taking care of OR patients, managing drips and lines, which is like ICU on steroids not having ICU experience is a detriment. I wouldn't want to supervise any new CRNA coming out without any ICU experience.

Reactions: 1 user
There are some trying to do away with ICU experience...
Really? Which ones?

Just curious. The local CRNA programs here have so many dang applicants every year that this would never happen in my area... wouldn't need to. They could fill their classes several times over every year even if they required five or more years of experience.