Professor getting cold feet about letter of rec...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

stebgbby

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
What do I do if a professor I am close to and made a letter of rec for me is suddenly getting cold feet? I have had a really great relationship with this professor, did research with him, presented at conferences, but I wasn't able to publish my work by the time I graduated. I was even offered to be a mentor for his classes twice (including an upper level one)! It didn't happen because my schedule never lined up. I thought I had a really good relationship with this prof, and he wrote me a letter of rec for another project and I specifically asked if he would write a med school rec and he was happy to. We even met about it! Well now I'm under the assumption he never wrote it, and I am emailing him about my committee letter and my personal letter. He is only answering questions about my committee letter and absolutely none about the letter he agreed to write for med school. What should I do? Nothing negative has happened between us, so I don't know what is going on. He refuses to answer my emails/questions about it. What should I do? Anyone with similar experiences?

Members don't see this ad.

That's a tough situation. Generally, it's best to have several letter writers in mind. You will need LORs when applying to residency, fellowships, and anything beyond. Sometimes letter writers have the best of intentions. Then they get busy and feel bad and stop answering emails. They're human. If you have already reached out to them multiple times and they have not responded, then I advise you find someone else for the personal LOR to medschool. You don't want to burn bridges with someone you have had good working relationship with since you might need them again down the road.