Question about CRNAs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thomasc93

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm an undergraduate senior who was premed for a while, but I just decided that medicine was not the route I want to go, so I'm starting an accelerated BSN program in May with the intent of eventually within a few years becoming a CRNA, a PA, or an NP.

I'm particularly interested in becoming a CRNA because anesthesiology has always been of interest to me. As such, I've been reading through some general threads about CRNAs here on SDN. I do however have some questions about the CRNA scope of practice just because of some things I've been reading.

It was my understanding that CRNAs practice with some autonomy but are always practicing under an MD/DO anesthesiologist, sort of like a PA operates with autonomy under a licensed physician, with the physician being ultimately responsible. Is this true or do some CRNAs perform anesthesia totally independently? As a mid-level practitioner I would expect that they practice under a physician, but I'm finding some threads that seem to point to the contrary... Like I could see maybe independently/autonomously handling ASA Physical Status I and II cases with an anesthesiologist being on call in case something goes really horribly wrong, but handling ASA III+ cases without the supervision of an anesthesiologist or at least without one being on call is kind of risky, isn't it?

I mean from my perspective, they're all part of the anesthesia care team, so shouldn't they be working together to manage cases? Not one fighting the other for control? Or is this because of a shortage of anesthesiologists? I'm just so confused because I've heard so many things regarding what exactly is a CRNAs scope of practice.

Also, I guess just to check my own understanding, what is the exact role of a CRNA in the anesthesia care team? How will this role change in the future?