Question about Navy HSCP as prior officer

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BroseidonPremed

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Good afternoon yall,

I am an MS1 student and received an offer for the HSCP scholarship (3 year scholarship). I am a prior Navy officer with 8 years of active duty service. I was under the impression that as a prior officer I would receive E-7 pay, but my recruiter is telling me that since I am a civilian and I had a break in service where I was not on a reserve status, I will be treated as a new civilian accession and am only eligible to receive E-6 pay.

Ultimately, I do plan on accepting the scholarship regardless of this fact, but I will admit that I am a little disappointed. I know this is a very peculiar position to be in, but I was hoping someone might have gone through this same thing or might know of some literature that might help my cause. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Good afternoon yall,

I am an MS1 student and received an offer for the HSCP scholarship (3 year scholarship). I am a prior Navy officer with 8 years of active duty service. I was under the impression that as a prior officer I would receive E-7 pay, but my recruiter is telling me that since I am a civilian and I had a break in service where I was not on a reserve status, I will be treated as a new civilian accession and am only eligible to receive E-6 pay.

Ultimately, I do plan on accepting the scholarship regardless of this fact, but I will admit that I am a little disappointed. I know this is a very peculiar position to be in, but I was hoping someone might have gone through this same thing or might know of some literature that might help my cause. Thank you.
It’s been 13 years, but I was a prior Air Force officer, had about a five month break in service after resigning my commission, then enlisted as E7

Reactions: 1 user
Good afternoon yall,