Quit dental school after 2 weeks- what now?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GokuxGON

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I really thought I had it in me but I just did not see myself doing this for four more years... backstory: I graduated early from undergrad (3 years) with a really high GPA and I got in my first try with average DAT scores. I guess I just wasn't as passionate as I thought I was- or maybe it was wrong timing. Nevertheless, I'm still hopeful for the future. What do you guys think I should do? Dental hygiene and PA school have always been in my radar. I just don't know if I have what it takes now after what happened these 2 weeks. It's as if water was coming at me from a fire hydrant. I was super behind in the didactic portion and I just couldn't keep up with the pace. Then came the hand skills. Of course I could've gotten better with time, but I was also not getting the whole basics such as the dental anatomy - the ridges and all of that. It was just horrid. My wax ups literally looked like if a kinder student made them. There was obviously a lot of other personal factors, but these were the main ones. I just followed what my mind told me and it told me that I would not survive, my essence would be completely gone, and I would be beyond miserable... for what?

Members don't see this ad.

• Care
Reactions: 3 users
Sounds like you need to do some soul searching and figure out exactly what you are looking for in a career. And if you can handle the training that goes with it. Dentistry definitely is not for everyone, I am less than 5 years out and I already have a few classmates who are either very part time or left dentistry all together. (For those who inevitably will ask— all women with husbands who do well). You’ve got your whole life ahead of you, take the time to figure out your next step. Don’t rush it.

• Care
Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)