Re-applying to Residency Advice - EM to IM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NonLinearPath

Reaction score
I'm a recent MD grad from an east coast med school who matched into an academic West Coast emergency medicine program. This application cycle was particularly hard for me because I hadn't been able to visit programs and cities. I unfortunately ended up prioritizing reputation and program length over location. On top of that I'd been split between EM vs IM. Because of COVID and scheduling, I completed my IM sub-I in January 2021. I really enjoyed my IM sub-I and could envision a career in heme/onc (I have a research background in onc).

After the match, I realized that proximity to family is my number one value. I understand I haven't yet experienced residency, but I can't imagine three years in a city a 5+ hour flight from my closest family with a 3 hour time change. It's been a pretty dark couple of weeks. We are into orientation month, and I can already tell that the vibe of my program and cohort is more family centric. The majority of my co-residents are from the area. Many also have kids, and we haven't had social events understandably so with COVID restrictions and their family obligations. I already feel isolated without my family and friends on the East coast, and I haven't even started shifts yet.

I have given myself to mid/late-August to decide a course of action. The following are some of the options I am considering, and I'd love any feedback from folks who have heard of or gone through similar experiences. I've read most previous threads and articles from SDN and reddit, but I'd appreciate advice specific to my situation.
  • I end up loving my first 3 months, and stick to completing the residency. Even thought the EM job market looks abysmal, I'm hoping to land any job in Chicago or NYC.
  • Re-entering the match: applying to Mid West & East Coast internal medicine programs