Re-Schedule July MCAT or Take July MCAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

yhw2321

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I am still a bit new at this and I apologize if this is similar thread to others. I have tried to do some searching myself, but they have not seemed to answer my questions.

I am currently scheduled for the July 29th MCAT, but I have reservations about it because I feel my scores are still not up to par yet and I have already moved it once from June. I have been mainly getting 7's throughout the sections with occasional 8-10s, but overall still in the lower half of the 20s. I feel I can still improve because I have mainly gone over material and not as heavy on the practice problems.

My friends have suggested that I should just go ahead and take this July MCAT and score it because if I moved it again to August then it would make much of a difference in my score and I would not get my scores until September.

What does anyone think is my best course of action at this moment?

Also, I have not completed my application for this cycle and this is the first time I would have my MCAT scored.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey man, I feel your pain. I was too scheduled for the July 29th MCAT however I just canceled because I was not ready to take it. I took AAMC 3 and scored 7PS, 7VR, 8BS. I finished reviewing a majority of physics, general chemistry, and biology and working some freestanding questions. However, I looked at my TPR book and I saw hundreds of unfinished passages. I did not feel that it was realistic to for me to complete all of those, take more AAMC practice tests, and remain sane all before July 29th.