Really worried about my grades...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

yankpak786

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm on the verge of getting a C+ in my gen. chem II class. Which gives me a C+ for both gen. chem I and II. With a B in Bio I and A/B in everything else, do I have any realistic shot for med. school? My GPA stands at a 3.44 right now. I'm a lower sophomore.

Members don't see this ad.

Yes? You are very young in your path. You still have 2 years to pick up your grades, and you will hopefully have a nice little GPA uphill climb.
It's too early to freak out but you might want to reflect on your study habits or course load and fix them.
Almost anyone can get into medical school given the AACOMAS GPA replacement. If you are feeling down on your luck then I would dip into the underdog thread and read up on some candidates with 2.2-2.9 gpa's.
good luck.

Sent from my iPhone using SDN Mobile app please excuse punctuation and spelling

I'm on the verge of getting a C+ in my gen. chem II class. Which gives me a C+ for both gen. chem I and II. With a B in Bio I and A/B in everything else, do I have any realistic shot for med. school? My GPA stands at a 3.44 right now. I'm a lower sophomore.
To give you reference points to aim for:

AACOMAS (DO) matriculant average stats are cGPA 3.48, sGPA 3.36, MCAT 26.51.

AMCAS (MD) school matriculant averages are cGPA 3.67, BCPM GPA 3.61, and MCAT 31.1.

You still have time to get on your A-game. Figure out what's keeping your from excelling. Maybe meet with an academic counselor at your school for added insights.

Members don't see this ad :)
Can you please expand on what the AACOMAS GPA replacement is? I'm not familiar with that what that is at all.

And thank you both for your answers, def. do feel a bit better.