Reapplicant applying right after an unsuccessful cycle?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted1012097

I am currently waitlisted at 3 schools after interviewing at 4 places and I would like to apply during the upcoming application cycle in case I do not get in anywhere since I really do not want to take more gap years.

The application will open very soon in May 2020 since I am a Texas resident and I will be using TMDSAS. Other than maybe couple new research publications and a potential new job in a hospital setting that I probably won’t start until summer, my application and essays will be same.

Do reapplicants ever have this problem? How do you deal with this situation? Are there any successful stories of reapplicants applying back to back?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: 2 users
Many medical schools encourage applicants who do not gain admission to take time to address the issues in their application so as to not lead to another unsuccessful cycle. My school flat out told us on interview day to wait a year or two before reapplying and the thread. The school thread is filled with folks who have applied 3+ times and were only interviewed during the first cycle. It also depends on what the issues are. If an unsuccessful application was caused by an unrealistic school list it may not be necessary to have a gap year. In your case, you had interviews so this likely is not the problem. Do you have the option to contact schools for feedback? If you can, contact the schools you were waitlisted at and see what you can do to improve. Based on what they say, it will be easier to gauge whether a gap year is necessary.

Last edited:
Reactions: 5 users