Repost: Post-bacc with MANY questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chekakanova

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I posted this in the Pre-Med board, but they suggested I post it here instead.

So a little bit of introduction: I'm a post-baccalaureate student (not in a post-bacc program, just taking the prereqs at my undergrad university) with two bachelor's degrees in English Literature and Philosophy. In the year after graduating, I had a lot of time to think about what direction I wanted to take in life, and after deciding against teaching and law, I came to the very strong conclusion that I wanted to be a doctor, and in particular a psychiatrist.

I also want to say that I've never been so motivated in my life as I am now. In high school and university, I was what I would call a smart slacker... I didn't have to put much effort in my classes, and I still received a 3.87 GPA. I always felt that if I had some actual motivation and/or more self-discipline, I would be a much better student.

Now, I feel that I have that motivation, and I want to do the absolute best I can with the next two years I have to take the pre-requisites for med school. I have minimal doubts about being able to succeed in all my pre-requisite courses, as I have always done well in the sciences, so I anticipate that I will maintain my 3.87 GPA, and perhaps I might even raise it a bit. I also plan to study extensively for the MCAT, but that's a ways off at this point (>1 year).

Of course, this leaves me with many questions, which I'm sure will probably be answered when I talk with my pre-med adviser this week, but I figured the more opinions the better.