Required courses to take before attempting DAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RedDevil202013

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello there!
I am currently an undergrad student going into my second semester of Sophomore year and was wondering what classes I should take before taking the DAT. So far I've finished Bio 1&2, Pre-Calc, Gen Chem 1. I am taking Orgo 1 and Cell Bio this semester. What else should I take? And can I take the Dat with these classes alone? Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello there!
I am currently an undergrad student going into my second semester of Sophomore year and was wondering what classes I should take before taking the DAT. So far I've finished Bio 1&2, Pre-Calc, Gen Chem 1. I am taking Orgo 1 and Cell Bio this semester. What else should I take? And can I take the Dat with these classes alone? Thank you!
I don't think anybody would tell you to take the DAT without finishing bio 1/2, gen chem 1/2, and orgo 1/2. Upper level science classes help as well. You have time, don't rush.

Hello there!

Probably Genetics will help. Botany or Zoology is also helpful (didn't take but did fine on DAT). Theres a lot of that on the bio section.

Members don't see this ad :)
There are no "required" courses to take the DAT. However, some "suggested" courses are: gen chem sequence, orgo sequence, intro bio sequence, physiology, pre-calc (if not completed in high school). I wish they tested on physics.