Residency from carribean

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wes431

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Lets say if I wanted to go into family practice, would getting residency not even be a problem if I studied medicine in one of the top Carribean schools and did decent on the USMLE?

Members don't see this ad.

You could graduate from the worst program in the caribbean, fail your USMLE exams several times and still have no problems getting a family practice resdiency (assuming you are a US citizen). In general....only mediocre to poor US medical students apply for FP, and the majority of FP programs do not fill.

If you really want to be an FP, then good for you. The fact that it is an uncompetitive specialty should not alter your decision.

Good luck

To the OP...if you'd like to know more about family medicine, feel free to stop by the FM forum. Most people there actually know something about the field. ;)

Members don't see this ad :)
You could graduate from the worst program in the caribbean, fail your USMLE exams several times and still have no problems getting a family practice resdiency (assuming you are a US citizen). In general....only mediocre to poor US medical students apply for FP, and the majority of FP programs do not fill.

So not true. I'm not going into FM and I'm still offended.

Lets say if I wanted to go into family practice, would getting residency not even be a problem if I studied medicine in one of the top Carribean schools and did decent on the USMLE?

If you have a passion for FP, you won't have a problem getting in. Let it show through your personal statement and interviews when it comes time to apply for residency. Some FP residency programs are harder than others to get into coming from a Caribbean school but like I said, it's how you present yourself that'll be the deciding factor. Best of luck.