Rotations draining me of energy - how to get better?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted1139416

I’ve recently had IM with surgery back to back. Both rotations are 80 hour work weeks with a crazy schedule and waking up super early before 5AM. On top of that I’m constantly studying for the shelf, which I don’t do well on anyways. I barely get to exercise or spend time with family. I’m just worried that the rest of my life will be like this.

Members don't see this ad.

Depends if you’re doing residency in either.

For the most part, IM hours aren’t usually that bad. But Gen Surg, absolutely.

You kind of just need to tough it out. I remember when I was a student I had to do 12d straight of an IM rotation and by the end of it I was literally dead. Came home at the end of day 12 and just passed out on my couch for like 4 hours.

I’ve recently had IM with surgery back to back. Both rotations are 80 hour work weeks with a crazy schedule and waking up super early before 5AM. On top of that I’m constantly studying for the shelf, which I don’t do well on anyways. I barely get to exercise or spend time with family. I’m just worried that the rest of my life will be like this.

Rest of your life? Likely not even close unless you end up in particular specialties/jobs.

Sounds like your school has particularly brutal clerkships cuz neither of my IM/surg clerkships were anything close to 80hrs/wk. Surprised you didn't at least get a few chiller blocks like IM subspecialty, outpatient IM or a chill surgical specialty.

There will definitely be tough periods in your training (and attendinghood) moving forward, but for the most part they'll be temporary unless you chose to be a trauma surgeon in a county hospital or an interventional cardiologist.

Members don't see this ad :)