Should I just give up pre-med?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Latteandaprayer

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know the title is dramatic, but honestly I feel I'm 20 steps behind all the pre-meds here and on campus.

I'm a sophomore. My cGPA is 3.74, and my sGPA is a 3.5 (A- in bio lab, B+ in both stats and calc, B in gen chem, A in OChem 1 and lab, A in gen chem lab).

I volunteered at a hospital for six months, but it was a real hassle to get there and back (20 minute drive, no car so a 40 minute bus ride. The only shift that worked with my schedule was from 8-midnight. My dad had to drive 30 minutes to pick me up, drop me off, then go back home). So, when the 6-month contract ended, I didn't go back with the hopes of volunteering at my local hospital. But due to time conflicts, I wasn't able to get an interview at the local one, so now I can't volunteer this semester. I have no other clinical experience.

I have no research. I tried; I applied to 12 labs but all rejected me because of my class and work schedule, or my lack of experience, or just never responded. I'm trying again, but there's no guarantee.

I shadowed one doctor over the summer for a total of 20 hours. I have no other shadowing experience.

I don't have leadership. I'm a member of a couple clubs but no official position.

I know this is coming off as me just saying "pity me!! My circumstances are sad!! My life is so hard!!" but I don't want pity, I need advice. What should I do next? How do I continue? I scheduled a meeting with my pre-med advisor but it's in November.

Ive lurked here long enough to know that a reply is going to be "if pre-med is this stressful for you, then you shouldn't go to med school." It's not the track itself that's stressful or too much, but rather the feeling that I'm not even on it. And if I am, that I'm too far behind.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.