Should I Quit Job to Continue Pursuing Pre-Med?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

studyhardmcat

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I’ve had this question in my mind for the longest time and haven’t found anyone else/other ways to solve my dilemma.

I’ve graduated with a bachelors in Healthcare Administration and I’ve worked in numerous positions in the healthcare field (mostly admn stuff, but a lot of clinical expousure). My dream has always been to become a doctor, but due to lack of guidance (I’m a first generation college grad) I chose a business degree with very minimum science courses.
Now I’m currently doing a post-bacc to try to get my science courses and study for the MCAT at the same time. The issue is that I currently work a full time job for a medical residency program for the past 8months or so - I got this opportunity thinking it would open a lot more doors in the medical field (build a rapport, meet more doctors, do more shadowing, make more connections) but it’s not really going as planned. It’s a lot of work, long hours, and I get paid really bad (I’m taking loans used to pay for classes and my own bills because my work alone does not cover it all). They are also not very flexible with my school (they know about my dream of becoming a doctor one day).

My main concern is that all of this is really stressing me out: the workload from work, the workload from school, the financial pressure. It’s unfortunately impacting my grades as I don’t have much time to study. So I was wondering if it is a good idea to quit this job and perhaps find a job online or that gives me more flexibility? I know my current title/experience would look great on my resume for medical school, which is why I can’t seem to let go. Help?