This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Drewfuss

Reaction score
Hey yall, I am a California Resident trying to decide between these 3 schools. As I understand it, all 3 schools have similar rankings so I am not sure if that will play much into it. I am looking to do EM or maybe a more competitive surgical subspecialty. Not totally sure yet. I am not really interested in research but will probably have to whip up some publications because of the new STEP 1 change. My family is in Southern California, but I am cool with moving far. I also have no significant other to consider. I am a lone ranger lol. I will incorporate raw tuition which does not include estimated cost of living or total cost of attendance. Thank you guys in advance! I would love to hear your guys opinion

SLU (Tuition is 58K)

Pros:
+Built a brand new university hospital to rotate through
+School and hospital are all very close (walking distance)
+Really liked the vibes I got when I lodged with an MS1
+A lot of free things to do
+Cheap cost of living
+I feel like being in St. Louis would give great experience to handling traumas
+Probably my cheapest overall option
+Really like the historic architect of St. Louis

Cons:
-Super high murder rate in St. Louis in general (Although around the school feels safe)
-Received subpar service from the White Castle I went to

MSU (OOS Tuition 58K for years 1&4, 87K for years 2&3)

Pros:
+I really like the new curriculum changes (focus to chief complaints seems really interesting)
+Staff was soo nice and welcoming. I can only assume they will be a stellar support system
+Really like the idea of being a part of a big 10 university
+Cheap cost of living at East Lansing and Sorta at Grand Rapids (compared to Southern California)