Social life in med school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

unsung

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just wondering how classes usually get along. Is it very cliquey? I assume people have outgrown many juvenile high school tendencies, so mostly people get along better... :confused: From tours, etc. I got the impression that mostly everyone knows everyone else (ECs, hobbies, special talents, etc.) within a class, but between classes it seems like people don't really know each other.

I also heard that many people become especially good friends with their dissection/body partners.

Any thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

Just wondering how classes usually get along. Is it very cliquey?

I'm curious about this, specifically. Med students out there, any thoughts? I'm a senior in undergrad and at my school it's definitely cliquey, though that comes w/ the territory of a large school. Is med school different, i.e. everyone gets along without regard to age/temperament?

And what about competition--even at those schools that don't grade on a curve. The schools I visited all claimed to have a relaxed social atmosphere, but come on aren't there people out there who are so gung-ho they can't hang out with their med student friends? :(

Just wondering how classes usually get along. Is it very cliquey? I assume people have outgrown many juvenile high school tendencies, so mostly people get along better... :confused: From tours, etc. I got the impression that mostly everyone knows everyone else (ECs, hobbies, special talents, etc.) within a class, but between classes it seems like people don't really know each other.

I also heard that many people become especially good friends with their dissection/body partners.

Any thoughts?

I've actually heard that it's cliquey and very much like high school (at least most ppl I know in med school say so).