Sophomore in high school aspiring to become a doctor.

Excusemesir

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, i am a sophomore in high school and ive always wanted to become a doctor, though i dont know what to specialize in yet

However, i have considered studying in the Philippines for college. How would i transition from an American high school to a foreign college?

Members don't see this ad.

However, i have considered studying in the Philippines for college. How would i transition from an American high school to a foreign college?

If your ultimate goal is to practice in America, then AVOID FOREIGN MEDICAL SCHOOLS AT ANY COST. Focus on getting into college first before you even start to consider options other than American MD/DO schools.

If your ultimate goal is to practice in America, then AVOID FOREIGN MEDICAL SCHOOLS AT ANY COST. Focus on getting into college first before you even start to consider options other than American MD/DO schools.

It was suggested to me that if i were to go to a foreign school, i could come here for residency, then just go back to the Philippines.

Members don't see this ad :)
It was suggested to me that if i were to go to a foreign school, i could come here for residency, then just go back to the Philippines.

While this may be possible now, it is very unlikely that the same will be said by the time you enter the matching process. Even right now, it is becoming tougher and tougher to match into American residencies from the Caribbean and other foreign medical schools, and this goes double if you plan to specialize in a competitive field (ie: Cardiology, Ortho, etc). Also, even if you do have a desire to go back to the Philippines, it doesn't make matching into an American residency any easier.