state of residence

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PBandJ

hot dog back in action!
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys. I sure hope someone in here who has moved at some point in their lives can help me with this issue. OK, so I am currently living & working in MA...I graduated in May 2005, started my work in July 2005, and I have been living here since then. My parents (both PA residents) filed me as a dependent on their taxes last year because I was still their dependent in college, but I have been independent since then (and I plan to file my own taxes this year). I switched my drivers' license to MA in February last year.

So my question is...for tax purposes, med school, and FAFSA purposes, am I an MA resident, a PA resident, or some sort of transient? If so, what do I need to do to be considered an MA resident? I understand that I will probably need to file taxes both places, but if anyone knows more about this, I'd appreciate anything you can tell me!

I appreciate the help!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi guys. I sure hope someone in here who has moved at some point in their lives can help me with this issue. OK, so I am currently living & working in MA...I graduated in May 2005, started my work in July 2005, and I have been living here since then. My parents (both PA residents) filed me as a dependent on their taxes last year because I was still their dependent in college, but I have been independent since then (and I plan to file my own taxes this year). I switched my drivers' license to MA in February last year.

So my question is...for tax purposes, med school, and FAFSA purposes, am I an MA resident, a PA resident, or some sort of transient? If so, what do I need to do to be considered an MA resident? I understand that I will probably need to file taxes both places, but if anyone knows more about this, I'd appreciate anything you can tell me!