STEP score and the match

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nm825

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a third year medical student with a Step 1 of 234. I'm a USMD at a top 40 school on the West Coast.

I know 234 is right around the average for Gas (232 per charting the outcomes). There won't be anything in the rest of my CV that's going to stand out greatly, but nothing will probably hurt me either.

With that being said, will I have a chance at matching at any of the programs in desirable areas (NYC, Philly, Chicago, LA, Seattle, etc), or will I probably end up in a less desirable location?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
I'm a third year medical student with a Step 1 of 234. I'm a USMD at a top 40 school on the West Coast.

I know 234 is right around the average for Gas (232 per charting the outcomes). There won't be anything in the rest of my CV that's going to stand out greatly, but nothing will probably hurt me either.

With that being said, will I have a chance at matching at any of the programs in desirable areas (NYC, Philly, Chicago, LA, Seattle, etc), or will I probably end up in a less desirable location?

You have a chance at NYC programs (idk much about other cities). No chance at Mount sinai in nyc since their cut off is 245 step 1. But other than that you may get interviews from other places. A couple of people matched to columbia here with 230s

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm sure they soaped to full. Plenty of IMG willing to take the spot