Struggling in Clinical Rotations

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EvanHansenFan

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am a rising M2 student at a US MD school, one that is designed as a 3-year curriculum.

My school uses a longitudinal model for rotations, and we started rotations end of our M1 year, so about a month ago.

I have rotated in almost all specialties, but some only for a few days given that we will come back to them at the end of our M2 year/all of M3 year.

We have started to get evaluations back from our clinical preceptors, and I have only gotten a Pass for those rotations (our school uses Honors, High Pass, Pass, Fail) grading scheme.

How does a Pass look for residency programs? I am interested in a primary care specialty only.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everyone,

I am a rising M2 student at a US MD school, one that is designed as a 3-year curriculum.

My school uses a longitudinal model for rotations, and we started rotations end of our M1 year, so about a month ago.

I have rotated in almost all specialties, but some only for a few days given that we will come back to them at the end of our M2 year/all of M3 year.

We have started to get evaluations back from our clinical preceptors, and I have only gotten a Pass for those rotations (our school uses Honors, High Pass, Pass, Fail) grading scheme.

How does a Pass look for residency programs? I am interested in a primary care specialty only.
You'll be fine. Talk to your preceptor for feedback on how to improve.

Reactions: 3 users
Don't worry. You have been sampling different specialties for only a month; a few days isn't enough for anyone to get to know you, so "pass" is just fine.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Hi everyone,

Explain (in detail) how your rotations are graded.

Most of the schools with three year clinical rotations seem like top tier so you’ll be fine