student clearinghouse is this for real?!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

clarkbar

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just discovered that there is a National Student Clearing House database that contains and provides all student's prior educational history to any school on demand. This is very disturbing for people with crappy transcripts at another community college etc they don't want brought to light.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Are you ****ing high?

Members don't see this ad :)
Previous posts by clarkbar:

I am a gal in distress. I had my admission rescinded from a school for academic dishonesty. I also withdrew from a domestic med school. My grades and test scores are good though. Would I have a chance for the carib schools which ones?

No, I graduated first, then went to med school. I passed three courses, failed two, then left the second year after a leave of absence.
My undergrad has a citation on it, put on years after I got it.
Do the Caribeans care about this thing? What about licensing boards in the states? Would I have to retake the mcat?

gpa: 3.465
sci: 3.464
mcat 27 (2002)

It looks like your concerns about the Student Clearinghouse (which is real) are an example of how acts of dishonesty can plague a person for years.

I'm not going to say what I think you are missing.

Hehe my Community College uses Student clearinghouse, i used it to mail my transcript to my new home 4-year uni.

PS I think i'm a sucker for troll posts. :rolleyes: I group you with CuteElectron and Headintheclouds. :thumbdown:

as far as i understand it:

requesting non-disclosure does not stop the student clearinghouse from obtaining directory and non-directory information because, afaik, clearinghouses are considered organizations with legitimate educational interests.