Taking a year off to transfer colleges, while in pre-med

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

preMedFalcon

Membership Revoked
Removed
Reaction score
I’m currently a sophomore in college, majoring in chemistry with a minor in computer science. However, I’m strongly considering changing my major to computer science and my minor to chemistry. If I were to make this change, I also feel that I would like to transfer to another university that has a better program and reputation for computer science (and am thinking of majoring in computer engineering specifically, and my current college does not offer such a major). Other reasons for transferring would be to attend a university that offers better support for pre-med students, and where it’s easier to socialize and find connections with internships and research opportunities.

Applying during the Spring 2020 semester will require me to rush my applications, so it's not a good idea. Applying during the Fall 2020 semester will have the following problems:
  1. I will be limited to only applying to colleges that offer Spring semester entry to transfer students (which only a few that I know of do).
  2. I will have already completed more than 2 years of college by the time I actually transfer out, which makes me ineligible to apply to most colleges as a transfer student.
However, if I take a year off after the Spring 2020 semester (and apply in Spring 2021 for admission in Fall 2021), I will have a whole year to prepare and complete my applications while remaining eligible to apply to all colleges that offer admission to transfer students. I am aware that this will delay my graduation by at least 1 year, but I feel that it will be worth it in the long run, and I plan to delay applying to medical school anyway.

Now here are my concerns: