TBR....Did I make the biggest mistake of my life?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

laxgirl06

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all, hope your MCAT studying is going ....swell.:p I'm in need of some advice, especially from people who have used/are using TBR prep materials. I'm studying at home and have been using flashcards to do content review. Unfortunately, I already have 300+ Anki flashcards for the FIRST BIO CHAPTER alone... I don't see this method working for me long-term. Although flashcarding has proven to be extremely effective for me, I don't think the volume of cards I'm making per chapter will be sustainable long-term. Any ideas? Someone advised me that I'm focusing too much on details, but I informed them that I don't have a strong science foundation/have a goal score of 520+. I love TBR books, but I need a way to effectively use them... I get scared that something I don't put on a flashcard will be on the MCAT, so I end up making so many! But this puts the info in "discrete" facts, rather than interrelated concepts. What do I do to change my study strategy and use TBR books to get a great score!?

Members don't see this ad.

You probably are focusing on the specifics that are more than likely not going to be on the exam. I would suggest reviewing the higher yield information that are more likely to be on the exam (ex. metabolism, BP regulation, etc.) and understand that there are going to be questions on the exam that you don't know.

I can't recommend much regarding your study strategy, especially since you know that flashcards work well with you, but I can suggest diagraming, reviewing content and making flash cards based on what you missed rather than what you already know.

Reactions: 1 user