Too Late?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Katy2004

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a student going into my sophmore year of college, and after doing some soul searching this summer, I've decided I really want to persue a career in medicine. However, I'm worried it might be too late. I don't attend an Ivy League school, but I do attend a top 20 liberal arts college, where I have about a 3.2 GPA. It's not great, but I can do much better if I set my mind to it... I messed around a lot freshman year. I took a couple of biology and psychology classes that made me decide I'd like to change my major from art history to biopsychology. I also get better grades in sciences, so changing my major would probably help my GPA.

In terms of extracurriculars, I was on the varsity crew team (I was recruited, but our team is mediocre) all of freshman year, but this spring I hurt my back so badly that I won't be able to continue rowing. I also am active as a student council rep and am in a political group on campus.

I'm willing to work my ass off, take on community service and extracurriculars, and whatever I need to do to get into med school. But I only want to do it if I have a real shot of getting into a good school in the end. Do I have a chance in hell? What do I need to do to make myself more appealing to the admissions board?

Thanks for any opinions and advice you might be able to offer.

Members don't see this ad.

HI Katy... :D

all I can say is don't give up...you still have a chance...

My freshman quarter I ended up getting a 3.22 gpa, 4 years later I brought up my gpa to a 3.74...granted it is not great. However, just to show that "you can improve"....

Besides, medical school looks at trends, just keep on moving up and it is a great sign....keep ur hobbies and extracurricular stuff. You will stand out..