eyehaveastigmatism

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey you guys! This is my first post in the forum. I am planning to apply for the upcoming 2017-2018 application cycle that opens this week, and I took my OAT today. The results I got back were a little lower than expected, and I'm having a tough time with it. I've been studying for about 3 months, but my scores just don't seem to reflect that. I have listed my stats from today, and my GPA below. My goal is to re-take the OAT as soon as possible, and possibly take a Kaplan course online. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to prep for a re-take? Also, with my current scores and GPA is it still possible to get into optometry school? Should I still submit my application early since I am planning to re-take the OAT?

GPA: 3.70
OAT: 290 AA, 270 TS (I know this is bad...)
- QR: 310
- RC: 330
- BIO: 300
- GCHM: 250 (I really blew it, but seemed fine on the practice tests.)
- OCHM: 260 (Same as above ^)
- Physics: 270

Extracurriculars: I am super involved on my college campus through various organizations, honor societies, etc. I also hold leadership positions in all of the organizations I am in.

Optometry Experience: I have worked for a well established practice in my area for a little over a year now, and have shadowed other ODs as well.

Any advice is appreciated, I've just been extremely stressed out about the whole process.

Members don't see this ad.