TV and Movie Anesthesia Errors

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HollywdAnesth

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a recent Anesthesiology residency graduate living in Dallas. Now that residency and boards are out of the way, I have decided to use some of my free time watching television shows and movies that involve medicine and point out all of their flaws. It's even worse than I thought it would be when I started.

So far I have done Lost, Saved By the Bell, Breaking Bad, and Doogie Howser. I should have some Grey's Anatomy material in the near future.

I've got a few posts in, and I don't know why I never thought to post it here. Read it and let me know what you think. Good or Bad.

http://killertvmd.wordpress.com/

Members don't see this ad.

Very detailed. You must really have a lot of time on your hands. :) Those aren't the shows I would have started with since I am not a fan of any of them. But to each their own.
I didn't realize Doogie was such a ladies man.
BTW, I met you many years ago. You were a pretty cool guy, as I recall.

Members don't see this ad :)
how about this.

the practice of anesthesia and the specialty of anesthesiology has never been portrayed accurately on television or in the movies.

Pretty funny (and detailed) stuff on your site.

Recently on Grey's Anatomy, I think an attending anesthesiologist signs up to go back and do a surgical internship!

Grey's Anatomy is going to give you seizures...

Those aren't the shows I would have started with since I am not a fan of any of them. But to each their own.

BTW, I met you many years ago. You were a pretty cool guy, as I recall.

I started with Lost, because I had seen all of the episodes and already knew what I wanted to say. Grey's Anatomy is going to be a bitch.

Where did you and I meet?

Members don't see this ad :)