UCSD and other California Post-Bacc

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FilosandZ

Reaction score
Hey guys! This is my first time posting here and I really need some advice. I wanted to know my shot at getting into a California post-bacc with a low GPA and low ECs, or should I take another year off to gain experience? Here's my background:

I went to community college for 3 years after high school and got a 3.196 cGPA and 2.97 sGPA. I transferred to UCSD as BS Biochem/Chem (minored in Gen. Bio) and got a 3.4 cGPA and 3.35 sGPA. If I calculated that right, I have an overall 3.289 cGPA and 3.16 sGPA after 5 years in undergrad. During my undergrad, I worked many part-time jobs, a 1 year internship at a place that teaches science to children and 1 year protein lab research (presented at a symposium). The most consistent thing I've done is work in specialty coffee (a super side hobby, I know I am a snob) for 3 years.

I took a year off because my dad got a heart attack, and honestly, I also didn't know what I was doing. I am currently taking anatomy and stats right now and will be earning my clinical medical assistant by June and hopefully get a job asap. Should I attempt to apply next year for 2021-2022 cycle for UCSD post bacc (my #1 choice) or any CA post bacc, or am I not competitive because of my low EC's and GPA?

I know this was long but THANK YOU SO MUCH for taking the time to read and help me through this!!

Members don't see this ad.

I am not sure if I can help much as I am starting now as well just to figure out the post bacc process . As far as California goes they have quite a bit of schools to choose from . I requested an appt to speak to the adviser and a few did call back and are quite helpful(some of the advisers are students waiting to apply to med )

They did say GPA's were not a main criteria but they wanted a well rounded candidate . Fees does run up to 35k though