UMich (IS w/scholarship) vs Penn (w/scholarship) vs UCSF (OOS)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

driedmango619

Reaction score
School 1: University of Michigan
Pros:
  • In-State and I was offered 10k/year scholarship
  • Class size of ~110, middle ground between UCSF and Penn class sizes
  • Already have connections at the dental school due to my undergrad research job
  • Pathways program as well as a solid Global Initiatives program
  • Newly renovated clinics
  • "#1" ranking
Cons:
  • Graded and ranked
  • I'm a UMich undergrad, staying in Ann Arbor isn't my first choice
  • I've heard complaints about research being prioritized by faculty/administration over actually teaching the dental students

School 2: University of Pennsylvania
Pros:
  • Offered a 30k/year Dean's Scholarship
  • Philly isn't as expensive as San Fran (slightly more expensive than Ann Arbor though)
    • Living in Philly would be awesome
  • Honors Program and strong community outreach
  • Cutting edge technology/emphasis on innovating the field (something I want to be a part of)
  • Strong alumni network
  • Ivy = better chance at specializing ?
Cons:
  • Graded (but not ranked past #10 I believe)
  • Class size of ~150, might be harder to get close with faculty
  • More expensive than UMich (but not nearly as expensive as I thought it would be considering the Dean's Scholarship I received)

School 3: University of California - San Francisco
Out of state
Pros:
  • Pass/Fail and unranked
  • Living in SF with mild winters sounds amazing after being raised in MI my whole life
  • Class size of ~60
  • Only a graduate school, more focus on dental students because of this ?
Cons:
  • Most expensive cost of attendance (but getting in-state residency after the first year helps)
  • Farthest away from home