Using Ch 31 for Pre-Med Post-Bacc Program - please help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

QueenAudrey

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey friends, I'm an Army vet and currently in Year 1 of a formal, 2-year pre-med post-bacc program. I was just informed about an hour ago that my university is taking back my Yellow Ribbon benefits. Although I am a veteran, I am also a spouse to a current Active Duty service member, so apparently I am not eligible. Now I'm suddenly on the hook for $30k, which came as QUITE a shock. I had wanted to save my Ch 31 VR&E (Voc Rehab) benefits for med school, but my current university has forced my hand. I have a 70% disability rating and applied today via eBenefits for someone to contact me about Ch31. My questions are:

(1) Have any of you successfully applied Ch 31 towards your post-bac program (or pre-med undergraduate studies)?

(2) Will Ch 31 cover any tuition from this year, or only going forward after I'm approved?

(3) How long did it take you to get approved?

(4) If you used Ch 31 for undergrad or post-bacc, were you still able to use it for med school?

Thank you so much! I'm heavily pregnant and a little distressed right now. ANY help or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey friends, I'm an Army vet and currently in Year 1 of a formal, 2-year pre-med post-bacc program. I was just informed about an hour ago that my university is taking back my Yellow Ribbon benefits. Although I am a veteran, I am also a spouse to a current Active Duty service member, so apparently I am not eligible. Now I'm suddenly on the hook for $30k, which came as QUITE a shock. I had wanted to save my Ch 31 VR&E (Voc Rehab) benefits for med school, but my current university has forced my hand. I have a 70% disability rating and applied today via eBenefits for someone to contact me about Ch31. My questions are: