USMLE Step 1 Advice needed! Low score UW2

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

basketball666

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hii so I am scheduled to take step 1 next friday and am looking for a little bit of advice.
I definitely had a rocky road with studying - I'm a DO student who does relatively well in school however on NBMEs I definitely was struggling.
I started out receiving relatively low scores (190-200 range) and then I made the decision to post pone my exam
After I post-poned and fixed some of my studying I had a jump in my NBME scores (207-216 range) which I was relatively proud of- I accepted the fact that I won't get a crazy competitive score but I also thought there has been worse scores out there.
I took UW2 today and completely bombed, we're talking lowest score I got out of all of the NBMEs. My exam is NEXT FRIDAY and I am baffled at what to do. Before this I was feeling relatively confident that I would at least pass the test but I am so unsure now. (NBME 18 was 211- not the highest score but also not the lowest)

Any advice? Should I drop taking step 1 all together and just focus on COMLEX?
First time around UW I was scoring 50-60s and second time I was in 70s-80% on Comquest I score high 70s% on each block.

For what I would like to go into - I'm honestly not sure. I was playing around with the idea of IM or psychiatry but I really wanted to keep my doors open in case there was something in clinical year that really stood out to me.

Thank you in advance for your advice :)

Members don't see this ad.

You are at serious risk of failing. I would not take Step in a week.

Reactions: 3 users
I scored 230. My UWSA2 was 230 and my NBME 18 was 229. Those were very predictive for me.

I'm not you, I don't know anything about residency chances, but your scores are too close to 194 for my taste. DO residency programs are still around and you seem to be doing good with COMLEX.