Veterinary Medicine versus Human Medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GloriousNyx

Reaction score
Hi, i am a student who studies in Singapore and am interested to find out what are people's opinions of Veterinary Medicine versus Human Medicine. I've always wanted to be a doctor since I knew what it was as a child, it has always been at the back of my head. It is like a subconscious thing that I want to be a doctor and save lives and help people. But as I grew older I also found happiness through helping animals. I see many posts saying that vets struggle with debts a lot as compared to medical doctors, is this really true? Also, what do you guys think will help me with my decision?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, i am a student who studies in Singapore and am interested to find out what are people's opinions of Veterinary Medicine versus Human Medicine. I've always wanted to be a doctor since I knew what it was as a child, it has always been at the back of my head. It is like a subconscious thing that I want to be a doctor and save lives and help people. But as I grew older I also found happiness through helping animals. I see many posts saying that vets struggle with debts a lot as compared to medical doctors, is this really true? Also, what do you guys think will help me with my decision?

It is very true for a lot of people.

Being that you are international, what I recommend doing is research within your own country. There was a recent student posting in here from Hungary who said the opposite is true within his country (vets make more money than doctors and tuition wasn't an issue).

Find out (in Singapore)
Avg salary of a veterinarian vs doctor
Cost of attendance of veterinary vs medical school

Then,
Find a veterinarian as well as a doctor to shadow - this will really give you an idea of which you like better.

Reactions: 3 users
Hey, human med student here tossing in my $.02