Volunteering/Clinical Experience/Extracurriculars during the pandemic (internationally)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zoe5

Reaction score
I'm an undergrad freshman at UCSB doing remote learning. How do I find volunteer opportunities? Will med schools take pandemic difficulties into account? I've read answers to other questions like mine, but Im living in Taiwan. So technically the pandemic is over here. There isn't a huge need for volunteers to help with testing since there are barely any new cases. I can't seem to shadow doctors or volunteer in hospitals, because the system here only allows medical students. I spend my breaks in Taiwan so would it look bad that I didn't do anything like volunteering? I'm currently tutoring online for free. Does that count? There isn't really a supervisor (Edumate NYC program) so should I just stop since this doesn't count. I'm getting a part time job as a waiter. Would that be a good use of my time? I have no idea what I'm doing. How am I supposed to get hundreds of hours like other premeds if I'm doing nothing my freshman year. I've joined clubs but they're on Zoom do they even count?

Members don't see this ad.