Volunteering vs Work Experience as a Pre Med

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Kwhi9705

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I am currently a Freshman Chemistry Major on the Pre-Med Track and I am starting to seriously think about my future and getting into medical school. As I look through other forums and post a lot of people suggest that volunteering in a hospital is an unwritten pre-req for medical school. I was wondering what people think would be better on an application: having a lot of volunteer hours or having an actual job in a hospital. I was thinking about taking a class over the summer to get certified to be a phlebotomist, or an x-ray tech, or something along those lines and then get a job at a hospital near my college for the next 3 years. I think there are pros and cons to both options. Both give me experience with patients and experience being in a hospital. But I think the job may give me more hands-on experience than the volunteering would. Also having the job would help me pay for my current tuition, which would mean less debt from undergrad schooling because I am going to have to take out loans for medical school. I am very conflicted about what to do and really want to make the best decision to get me where I want to be in the future.

Members don't see this ad.

I have no idea, so I did both. I've had paid clinical jobs for years, but I picked up a clinical volunteering position as well just in case.

Close examination of the MSAR shows that most medical schools do NOT care about paid clinical experience, IMO. When many, many schools have ~30% or less of first year matriculants with paid clinical experience, but >80% volunteer clinical experience and >80% research experience, I smell a rat when anyone tries to tell me those schools like paid clinical experience.