WAMC: 2nd time applicant (lowish GPA, high experience)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ARTistRea

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am 22 yo and am applying to veterinary school for the second time. I graduated a year early from Oklahoma State. I applied last year for TAMU and due to a scheduling mishap ended up missing a prereq to technically qualify after already submitting my application. However, the feedback that I received on my application was that I needed to increase veterinary diversity and leadership experience. I have since worked on those and have all prereqs completed and would like some feedback from yall about my chances.

Colleges I'm Applying To:
TAMU and Texas Tech (the first year accepting applicants)- both my in-state

Cumulative GPA: 3.68
Science GPA: 3.41 (low, I know, I took almost all of my science prereqs within 2 semesters)
Last 45: 3.72 (Assuming my last 61 hours count as "last 45" due to the semesters after only adding up to 40. I'm still a little confused by how that is calculated) / 3.65 (last 40, unfortunately, ended up taking all of my science courses last)

Degrees achieved:
Bachelor of Science in Animal Science

GRE results: Not taken into account this year

Veterinary Experience: 2300ish
2100 at a small animal/small exotic single doctor practice (intern in highschool then technician since college)
130 shadowing at a small animal, 5 doctor practice
15 volunteering at a state fair birthing center with various vets

Animal Experience: 4300ish
1700 showing/raising goats through FFA and 4H
200 hours for snake and dog ownership (max hours allowed)
450/100 working/volunteering as horse barn staff at a therapeutic riding center
130 in hands-on handling labs
300 spent as a medical dog foster
500 odd jobs like petsitting
425 volunteering at the local animal shelter
50 facilitating livestock shows/judging competitions/community outreach horse handling training