WAMC c/o 2026 * need reply before 29th!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

vsanc085

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I am a first time, florida resident, traditional applicant. I have applied to Washington, Florida, Colorado, Illinois, and Cornell.
My GPA is 3.33 but was calculated as a 3.2 on VMCAS. I have two repeated classes and two classes I dropped. There is a significant increase in my grades halfway through my undergrad and this is shown through the classes I have retaken. However since vmcas calculates all grades my vmcas gpa is lower.

I have a lot of experience more than 1000 hours in vet experience, non vet/animal experience, and in different areas. Also worked all through undergrad.

LOR from two vets i worked with, an academic professor, and one from a farmer i worked with. I believe all letters are will really benefit me.

I am scared that the vmcas gpa will lower my chances of getting in. Do schools take a look at the vmcas gpa over the one stated on the official transcript? Are there any other schools I should try to apply to before the 29th deadline that prioritize the official gpa?

Let me know your thoughts! I appreciate all feedback! Thanks!

**EDIT - VMCAS miscalculated my GPA and it is now at a 3.2

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Most schools that look at your cumulative GPA look at the total GPA including repeated classes (so they would look at the 3.08). If your science/prereq GPA and last 45 credit GPA is much higher than your cumulative GPA you would probably still have a good chance at schools that value those more, or schools that look at your entire application regardless of GPA.