Wannabe Anesthesiologist - worried about my future!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HOOAH

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

My situation may be unique compared to most, however I am sure some folks out there have experienced similar situations and may offer me some guidance/advice. A little background: I am an Osteopathic Physician who completed medical school in 2007 from the Virginia College of Osteopathic Medicine in Blacksburg, VA. That was followed up by a Transitional Internship at Madigan Army Medical Center in Tacoma, WA which I successfully graduated from in June 2008.

Due to shortcomings in my application (i.e. poor board performance on all 3 steps) I chose to wait on applying to residency and, instead, decided to pursue Operational Medicine as a General Medical Officer in the United States Army. Thus I was assigned to the 4th Brigade Combat Team - 25th Infantry Division (Airborne) out of Ft. Richardson, Alaska. My title position was Battalion Surgeon (Primary Care Provider for a Battalion of Paratroopers). Shortly after arriving to my unit we deployed in support of Operation Enduring Freedom and my unit was sent to Eastern Afghanistan from Feb. 2009 - Mar. 2010. In Afghanistan I was in charge of and ran one of the busiest clinics in the country, with over 5,000 patient encounters in the year long deployment. I was also responsible for Trauma support with the Combat Hospital that was stationed in the same location. I was involved in several high profile trauma events in Afghanistan. During my deployment, I was awarded the Combat Medical Badge for delivering life sustaining medical care while under direct fire from the enemy, and I also received the Bronze Star Medal for all my accomplishments throughout the deployment.