This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

amanda_d

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a 27 y/o student in my last year of undergrad. I've had an unusual path in school. I'm currently in an accredited program online. I'm graduating with a B.S. in Biology (transferred in labs from a community college). I have a 4.0 GPA.

I'm also a volunteer EMT. I think this experience, as well as being chronically ill as a child, has me leaning towards working in an ER...

My question is, what path do you think would be most effective for me?

I'm thinking of doing some sort of pre-health post-bac program. That way I can do some hands-on learning again, before the MCAT and applying to med schools. I just wonder, would it be odd since I've already majored in Bio?

Does this seem appropriate or should I just go for the MCAT and med school applications straight away?

I want to be taken as a serious candidate, and I feel a little intimidated by the fact that I'm getting my degree online. I know times and technology are changing but I figured I'd ask opinions.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Did you take the core sciences online? Many med schools have a bias against (or down right won't accept) online required courses. Do you have the required med school courses? have you taken any MCAT practice tests? how did you score?

Need answers to such before making the best suggestions.

Did you take the core sciences online? Many med schools have a bias against (or down right won't accept) online required courses. Do you have the required med school courses? have you taken any MCAT practice tests? how did you score?

Need answers to such before making the best suggestions.

Hello, thanks for the response!