Wayne State and preference to Michigan residents

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Epidemic

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All! Wayne State said that it gives preference to Michigan residents when making admission decisions. Does anyone know exactly how this works? Is it that there's a set score that applicants have to hit to be accepted and MIchigan residents get bonus points? Do they try to admit all suitable Michigan residents first, then start sending out admissions to non-residents as withdrawls come in? I'm a Canadian student and just want to get a better idea of my chances of getting off the waitlist since Wayne is my first choice.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

state residency

The way I am sure it works is that they aim to fill a certain amount of their class with residents, ~80% I believe. So, pretty much the residents compete with other residents for an certain number of spots, and the same thing goes for non-residents. They prefer residents because they accept more of them. I would assume you will be on the waitlist until non-residents start giving up spots, which should happen soon considering they just sent me a letter saying I have to declare if I am going there or not by May 17th. Good luck

Members don't see this ad :)
I heard that they consider windsor resident michigan residents for some reason. Do if you're from windsor you might have a shot

IcedCube said:
i'm interested in hearing why wayne's your first choice :)

The only 2 schools I applied to were Wayne State and Albany. I got into Albany, but prefer Wayne State because (1) I'm Canadian and it's about 10 minutes from the border to Windsor, (2) it's an hour from my girlfriend's home just outside Windsor, and (3) I prefer being in an urban environment.

So ddmoore54, what are the chances you're giving up that spot?

Epidemic said:
So ddmoore54, what are the chances you're giving up that spot?