What are my chances in Texas pharmacy?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Vermicularius

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a Texas resident at an A&M branch school. I'm hoping to get accepted into pharmacy school for fall of 2018. I wanted to see what my chances were for getting accepted into a school in Texas. My primary school would be A&M because I'm familiar with it, but would really like to go to UT Austin or Incarnate Word. My PCAT percentile was in the 86th. GPA is a 3.99, 3.98 prepharmacy gpa. I have organization involvement and officership (just dedicated to one org.) . I have a tutoring job and recently got hired as a pharmacy technician. I have 2 professors for recommendations and hopefully one from the pharmacist I'm working under.
If anybody has any idea if my chances are well for landing an interview or pieces of advise of this I should consider. Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

This sounds too specific to be a troll...My advice is to work the pharmacy tech job before making your final decision. Look through ALL of the SDN Pharmacy forums (as well as reddit.com/r/pharmacy), which provides plenty of info and opinions from current pharmacists on what the job market is like. If all is fine and dandy and you have a strong passion for pharmacy, then yes, I think a 3.99 GPA will be just fine. Be ready to explain during your interview why you couldn't reach that 4.0.