What are my chances, should I just give up

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PostBaccEngineer

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I have an undergraduate degree in computer engineering and I hated every minute of it. I ended up with a GPA of 3.1 and decided a year into my career that I wanted to pursue medicine (an old dream of mine) I started my postbacc at NYU and ended up with a GPA of 3.7. I am currently studying for the MCATs and feeling demotivated looking through posts because it feels like I am doing it all for nothing since my chances are pretty low due to my UG GPA. Combined with my postbacc due to a lot of credits in UG I am looking at a 3.25 which is low even for DO schools. I also was working full time as a software engineer and founded my own company while I was doing my postbacc (I needed to earn a living) I am wondering if that would look favorable on my application? Any advice or should I just give up?

Members don't see this ad.

Hello, fellow engineer! Yes, the GPA one earns in engineering can be quite a burden for applying to medical school. I had a solid 2.5 when I started my post-bacc and even then I needed that to get into an SMP to get into an MD school (semi-linkage).

While a 3.25 is on the lower side for DO schools, I think a strong MCAT can significantly improve your chances of getting accepted (510+). DO schools traditionally value reinvention somewhat more than MD schools. However, DO students still have a slight disadvantage when it comes to competitive specialties; this is likely due to a combination of historical bias and limited home programs for which to get experience and research. So if you go DO you should be prepared for the possibility of doing a primary care field.