what are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AliMajid1995

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I migrated to Canada when I was 18 and I did my A-levels in Dubai. My background is that my entire family is quite religious and is from (you guessed it) Pakistan. I did not put in the energy into developing my English in HS and lower and I only took biology, chemistry, calculus, and physics in HS and I never really learnt English or put in the effort so well. In Canada, my dad took me to the in state university, and I got myself enrolled in life sciences majors in the first year which was the year we moved to Canada(eastern).

I had already been a little bit familiar with the material in HS and since i really liked science, i had done well(3.7+) in the first year. During the second year I got terribly sick (have chronic colitis and ended up getting pulmonary embolism in lower right lobe) and ended up doing terrible in genetics 1 and some other courses as I was just barely recovering from it(parents and doctor pushed me into uni, not even a month out of the hospital). my GPA during this year fell to 3.0. i had never talked to or stayed in touch with any professor and the support system here was not very good as far as career/academic counselling goes. In third year i did amazing again taking things like physiology, biochem, etc.. and some chem minor courses finishing with a 3.6.