What to wear during Clinical Year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fromthebox

In the Box
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm an SGU student and I recently found out I'll be spending my clinical year at the University of Minnesota. We start in January, and currently my island wardrobe consists of shorts, flip flops and t-shirt or tank top (+/- sweatshirts in VSL) in lecture and scrubs with white coat in the campus clinic. I have three button down shirts. Two from my interview outfit and one I picked up for a conference. I own two pair of dress trousers that spend most of the year in my closet.
Not only will MN winter be cold, but I'll be needing a new wardrobe. All the info we have is "Slacks, dress shirt or collared shirt, close-toed cleanable shoes."

So, classes of 2015/16 what do (or did) you wear on clinics and what are some go-to options or things to avoid in building a clinic wardrobe? How many pieces of clothing am I looking at buying (thank god for no MN sales tax on clothing) and what price range should I be looking at ($30 shirts, $60? more?) to fit in and not look too shabby or too chic?

Members don't see this ad.

To be clear, I'm not just looking for opinions from MN, especially as LIS is a dude and I'm not sure he can answer my question specifically. The students from SGU at MN right now are both male and said "nice tops, no jeans."

Members don't see this ad :)
Business casual.

Reactions: 1 user
In either case, I'm sure that 1) LIS can give some sort of advice and 2) bumping the tread a little bit will bring other clinical or recently graduated students here. I'd try to help, but I am not a vet student.

I personally wouldn't spend too much on clinic clothing since it'll get ruined or gross. Nice enough to look professional, but I wouldn't set the bar much higher than that.

Reactions: 1 users