YippiYiYo

15+ Year Member
Mar 7, 2004
Visit site
Status
What was your undergraduate major? Should I major in something other than science?Your input will be helpful, thanks.

HBomb

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Feb 20, 2004
CA
Visit site
Status
I studied math. My personal belief is that as an undergrad, you should study whatever it is you think you'll enjoy the most. If you can believe it, I really liked math. I also would have liked to have studied linguistics.

In terms of dental school, it's more important that you do well in school and on the DAT, not so much your major. If you ask me if a science degree makes you more competitive than a non-science degree, all else being exactly equal, I'd say there is a very, very slight advantage to the science major (but I think some others in the forum would disagree). But the advantage is only slight, and it's more important that you thoroughly enjoy your undergrad years, since you only get that once in your life.

krull

Membership Revoked
Removed
15+ Year Member
Apr 1, 2004
Visit site
Status
Physics

About the Ads

trypmo

Arch Fiend
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jan 11, 2004
Texas
Status

Sk8aBull

Should be Studying...
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Mar 15, 2004
FL
Visit site
Status
Dental Student
My major is Biomedical Sciences.

Kung Foo

Mad Scientist...
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Apr 28, 2002
the edge of decay
Visit site
Status
Post Doc