This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Vinsanity331

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 2nd year undergraduate student at Ohio State University studying Neuroscience. Currently, with my AP credit, I am able to finish my courses after 2.5 years, which would be in December 2021. I plan to complete my pre-med courses by the end of my second year (except for OChem 2, which I will take my first semester junior year). My questions are:

1. When should I take the MCAT?
2. When should I apply to medical school? If I apply on the regular cycle as my peers, what should I do during the remaining 1.5 years of undergrad?
3. Should I pursue another degree? If so, what major or minor would best couple with Neuroscience for the best application to medical school? Maybe some kind of business degree such as finance?

Looking forward to hearing your responses!

Members don't see this ad.

1 and 2) When you are 100% ready for it.

Read this:
Med School Rx: Getting In, Getting Through, and Getting On with Doctoring Original Edition by Walter Hartwig
ISBN-13: 978-1607140627

ISBN-10: 1607140624

Reactions: 1 user
I am a 2nd year undergraduate student at Ohio State University studying Neuroscience. Currently, with my AP credit, I am able to finish my courses after 2.5 years, which would be in December 2021. I plan to complete my pre-med courses by the end of my second year (except for OChem 2, which I will take my first semester junior year). My questions are:

1. When should I take the MCAT?
2. When should I apply to medical school? If I apply on the regular cycle as my peers, what should I do during the remaining 1.5 years of undergrad?
3. Should I pursue another degree? If so, what major or minor would best couple with Neuroscience for the best application to medical school? Maybe some kind of business degree such as finance?

Looking forward to hearing your responses!